The Three "R's"

Ramblings, Reflections, Reviews … From the "Pen" of William Land

Wedding Cake Murder: A Review

WEDDING CAKE MURDER
Read: February 2017
Reviewed: February 27, 2017
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

wedding-cake-01

SPOILER ALERTS

This book is boring! For many books, I truly enjoyed the “Hannah Swenson Mysteries” by Joanne Fluke  and found the characters and setting enjoyable (just like returning to visit old friends) and the plots interesting.

In recent years, the books have become boring. The dialogue is weird and stiff and many characters do not act like real people. It’s like returning to visit old friends and expecting they would be like what they were in the past, but they’ve greatly changed and become boring and unrealistic.

This book is supposed to be a murder mystery. At one point, I had read approximately half the book and still no murder! I noted the page number (166). It was almost though Fluke had read my thoughts and decided to finally had a dead body appear (the corpse has been discovered by page 170)!

The reason I gave this book two stars is because I liked reading about Hannah’s wedding (even though it was to Ross Barton; how could this “blast from the past” appear and sweep Hannah off her feet?) when she had Norman as a love interest. I rooted for Norman (he built Hannah’s dream house!) and while Mike is sexy, Norman is the one with depth.

I always felt the friendship between Mike and Norman was unrealistic because they were competing for the same woman for marriage. It would have been nice to see, just even once, the men angry with the presence of the other in Hannah’s life.

In this book, the acceptance by both Mike and Norman of Ross just simply doesn’t ring true! Most men, upon being rejected, would not even want to attend the wedding, let alone be part of the bridal party.

One of the reasons why I rated this book two stars (instead of one) is the absence of Tracy Todd! She was mentioned, but didn’t appear! This child is the most annoying character in any cozy series I’ve read to date! She speaks the most unrealistic child dialogue ever written and is completely nauseating! It isn’t likely to happen, but it would be wonderful for reader if Tracy was murdered in one of the future books!

I have been reading this series for over many years, and will likely continue to read new books because I am still slightly interested in the lives of the citizens of Lake Eden; I’m not certain why. As a reader, perhaps, I am machoistic?

2 Comments

  1. joconnor705

    Hi Bill Had to write and tell you what a good laugh I had when I read this review.   :)The part about taking the child “out” was particularly funny.Not sure if writers aren’t parents but so often the dialogue they assign to children is very unbelievable I’ve found, like they don’t know how children’s speak or the kinds of things they say.When I see that a book includes a child, I audibly groan… please, not a child!I once heard an actor say that you never want to do a movie with a child actor, they’ll upstage you every time, even if they don’t put on a good performance.  I feel the same thing happens in a book where they include  a child. The dialogue is painful and terribly unrealistic  (making me suggest earlier that writers don’t appear to be parents) and they steal the show. I know when I’m reading Nancy Drew books, the authors seemed to love adding children in as main characters and I’d wished they didn’t.  Nancy, bless her heart, always seemed to humour them and extend a kindness to them that I couldn’t have possibly done, questioning how I was able to raise a well-adjusted and loved child myself  :).That being said, I hope you don’t mind that I forwarded your review to my sister Colleen as I thought she would appreciate your writing style as much as I do! Thanks so much Bill for that good laugh  :)Take care.Jo

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jo -You are welcome for the laugh! I completely agree with what you wrote about children in books! The dialogue is too often horribly painful and very unrealistic – Tracy Todd in this series sounds like a boring academic professor instead of a seven-year-old (or whatever age she’s supposed to be?) child!

    Some of the children in children series books can be annoying. You are right when many of the Nancy Drew books add children; for some strange reason I am not bothered by them too much (I liked Trixie Chatham in “#19: The Quest of the Missing Map” and Coya/Rishi in “#13: The Mystery of the Ivory Charm” [the boy’s name changed from the original to revised texts) a lot], but didn’t like the numerous neighbour children of the elderly couple who owned the bird farm in “#50: The Double Jinx Mystery.” Of course, this book is one of the latter classic Nancy Drew novels which generally aren’t as good as previous books in my humble opinion.

    Well, Nancy Drew was never a mother, and I’ve always found you to be very kind and I would think that would have extended to raising your son. He’s turned out to be a fine man so you must have done something right. I think if Nancy had had children, they would have been raised with a governess and gone to boarding school.

    As much as I love the Trixie Belden series, her spoiled six-year-old brother was always so annoying. It’s funny, but in my recent (2017) re-read of the first 16 Trixie books, Bobby Belden didn’t grate on me as much. I still think he would have benefited from participation in a school’s special needs program, though.

    I’m glad that you forwarded my review to your sister. I hope she enjoys it. Perhaps Colleen might enjoy reading my ramblings on this Blog? I do enjoy expressing myself through writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

