The Three "R's"

Ramblings, Reflections, Reviews … From the "Pen" of William Land

Why I Need to be Six People!

Life is to be lived, embraced, experienced, enjoyed … but all that we, as human beings, must do, should do and want to do to enrich our lives must fit into 24 hours each day, seven days each week, 365 days each year (excepting for Leap Year – once every four years!).

I don’t have enough time, or I don’t have enough of me!

I need to become six people!

Recently, as I explore my inner thoughts, I know it would be wonderful if I were six people!

Why? … one might question! I need to be six people in order to accomplish all that I must do or want to do to enrich my life.

I live with physical disabilities; cerebral palsy from birth (1959) and Parkinson’s disease (2011). Currently, each day, I manage approximately four to five hours of significant activity before I need to stop and rest. This conflicts with my personality of wanting to get things done and live life as fully as possible!

 

#1Bill-Locket-3-crop

As I get older, I find I need more rest. I need more downtime. I must rest and relax and refocus so that I can rebuilt. “William #1” is the person who would have restorative sleeps (quality naps), or rest quietly with a good book or movie to restore energy, resulting in better health.

 
#2Bill-Locket-3-crop

“William #2” is the worker! This person is responsible for all the tasks that must, should and want to be completed in order to maintain my home. Due to my recent 2015 move from Sudbury to Orillia, there are still many boxes and other belongings (including books) which must be sorted and organized. This isn’t enough time to do everything that I must do including unpacking and organizing my household.

Additionally, tasks like cooking, dish washing, laundry, cleaning the bathrooms, dusting, vacuuming, and related tasks, have to be done. “William #2” is responsible for home maintenance.

 
Bill-Locket-3-crop#3

“William #3” must do errands outside the home, grocery and other shopping, and tasks that are necessary for good health and well being. Visits to medical appointments, support groups, regular exercise (the two dreaded words of the English language!) and being with similar people who will help along this journey.

 

#4Bill-Locket-3-crop

The next me, “William #4,” is very social. He will work on staying connected with his network of terrific family, friends, series collectors, and others! He will regularly write letters and e-mails, make phone calls, and schedule face-to-face visits!

 
Bill-Locket-3-crop#5

This person is the creative person. This is the man who wants to spend time writing creatively on a number of subjects or projects of personal interest. This is someone who wants to and needs to share on a variety of topics. “William #5” is the creative writer!

 
Bill-Locket-3-crop#6

The last “me” is the go-to-guy! He is the one that will pick up any slack from the other “Williams!” He is the man in reserve! “William #6” is the spare!
Cloning myself will provide enough “Williams!” Of course, it might be easier if I just use my nicknames for my cloned selves: William is the original, then I have Bill, Billy, Will, Willy, Liam, and Billiam! Oh, wait, that’s seven????!!!

 

Is the world ready for six or seven of “William Land?” I’d like all variations of me are welcome, but, perhaps, I am the only one believing this?

 

©2016

6 Comments

  1. Noralee07@aol.com

    And I’m glad to know all six (or is it seven) Williams! Good for you for keeping yourself active and involved! You make me ashamed of my lazy days (like today) when I realize it was a totally waste! With your incentive in mind, I plan to do a lot better! Take care, Nora

    Like

    • Hi, Nora! I’m so glad you enjoyed the posting! Please don’t be ashamed of your lazy days – believe me, I have them, too. Sometimes far too many of them, but I think we have to do what we can do when we can do it! Sometimes, though, I get stuff done – I surprise me! 🙂

      Like

  2. Hans & Sue VanRietPaap

    Ok Bill – I knew you were creative but this Three R post outdoes all the rest – BY FAR!! I had never thought of cloning myself to get all things done, but what a terrific idea!!!! (actually, my children will vehemently object so I must do some serious thinking here..wait, I just did…..I’m gonna do it!!)

    Looking at it another way, cloning yourself Bill might not be such a good idea….by doing so you would only be making the world 6 times better….. are we ready for that????

    As ALWAYS Bill, hearing from you is wonderful.

    Sue (Van Riet Paap)

    > > >

    Like

    • Hi, Sue,

      I think the world would be a better place with more of us – our clones – although “the world” make not be ready for such awesomeness! Even if others; i.e., children object, we still must go ahead with what we must do!

      Always great to hear from you, too! Take care.

      Like

  3. Nina

    I think you missed one, Bill…What happened to William the Conqueror? You know, the guy who never gives up, no matter what the odds.

    Like

    • Hi, Nina,

      Thanks for the terrific compliment! I don’t give up very easily – I’m far too stubborn!

      One time a friend was a bit frustrated with me and said, “You are SO stubborn!”

      My reply: “You say that like it’s a bad thing?”

      We had a great laugh over that one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

